A one year journey through real estate, Week 10

A one year journey through real estate, Week 10

Week 10 finds me at my computer very early on a rainy Friday morning.  I have a home inspection for one of my buyers, which I’m trying to coordinate.  It’s an older home, built in the mid seventies, bank owned and in obvious need of TLC.  My buyers are moving from upper New York state to get away from the snow, high taxes, heavy traffic and live in a quieter, peaceful, warmer environment.  It will be their retirement home.  So, we’re hoping the inspection does not turn up any major issues. 

I spent a great deal of time this past week on phone duty at our office.  Some of our agents prefer not to do phone duty and some of the more experienced agents really don’t need to do it.  They are quite busy these days.  I, on the other hand, being fairly new to general brokerage, need every opportunity possible for picking up new clients.  I did in fact pick up a referral from another Coldwell Banker agent located in another state.

One issue I am trying to deal with is, potential clients that contact me, I work with and then they just vanish.  I’m not sure if they are too busy to get back to me, or they have simply changed their minds about buying or selling.  I call and e-mail, with no response.  I don’t want to be a pest, but it would be nice to know what their status is.  I’d be interested in comments from other agents on how they handle these situations.

I sent out a second round of post cards earlier in the week, to my neighborhood.  I expanded the farmed area a bit and continued my theme of living in the neighborhood and being very knowledgable of the area.  While at my vets office this week, one of the techs approached me and said “Hey, I got a post card from you.  It’s on my fridge”.  That’s what I like to hear.

Overall, it seems like business is picking up slowly but surely.  I think the warm spring like weather we’ve had here recently has people ready to get off the fence.  Also. I believe the approaching deadline for the tax credits has many people finally taking action.

As always, I appreciate comments and suggestions from those in the business.

Jeff

Leave a comment

Filed under Builders, Custom Homes, General brokerage, Home Builders, Housing, North Carolina, North Carolina Real Estate, On your lot Builder, Real Estate, Real estate agency, Real estate broker, Realtor, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

